Some photos from Washington D.C

Running on little sleep, fighting jet lag (well, who am I kidding, it’s really not worth the fight, you’re gonna loose either way) and all those other “benefits” that comes with traveling across the Atlantic Ocean. Here are a few photos from my trip to Washington D.C this memorial weekend. I will write a post later about some of the impressions, and I’ll make the Facebook photo album public. Here are a few goodies from my trip! I had an awesome time, and I can’t wait to go back sometime soon!

First plane of my trip – Dash 8-Q400series registration LN-WDI (I know, I’m such a geek)

The White House (as seen from the Ellipse/South)

The White House, as seen from Pennsylvania Avenue

The Washington Monument

Hmm… I think I know her!

The US Capitol

So it was brought to my attention that someone I personally know have flown this particular aircraft, before it was donated to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum in D.C, and she was also a part of the ceremony when NWA (Northwest Airlines) donated the nose section to the Smithsonian Institutions.

Amelia Earhart’s Lockheed Vega, just a few days after the day that marked the 80th anniversary of her transatlantic solo flight in this aircraft, as the first female pilot (aviatrix) ever!

Arlington National Cemetery. 400 000 bodies are buried here. And every Memorial Day weekend they put up flags by 200 000 headstones.

Europe-bound on this Airbus Industrie A340-343X with Scandinavian Airlines

Touchdown in Norway with a Dash 8 Q-400 from Wideroe.

That’s all I have for you tonight. More to come in the coming days, so stay tuned!

– Cecilie

Posted on May 29, 2012, in blog. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Oh… such beautiful photos and a great trip! It’s pretty sobering when your plane is in the Smithsonian too.🙂 I can hardly wait to take my grandkids to see my plane.

    • Thank you! I had a great time! Haha that is funny. I guess it marks the end of an era (The NWA-adventure). The end of one era means the beginning of a new one, and I’m sure you will leave strong foot prints in the future too. I would love my airplane to one day end up at the Smithsonian – a true honor! Yes, take your grandkids to Smithsonian! Great place. They had this one exhibition called “How airplanes fly” explaining the 4 acting forces on an airplane. I wish my books were that simple🙂

      • Yes… end of an era. So… your books are that simple. How to make them fly. Lift, pull back over shoulder, swing arm, release. The swing and release are simultaneous actions.🙂

  2. Great post with great photos! I agree with Karlene, seeing the NW 747 head was a sight. I bet going through Arlington National Cemetery was a moving experience, especially on Memorial Day. I can’t wait to see the full album on Facebook!

    • Thank you Jeremy! It sure was. Spectacular view. Even though I’ve seen many 747s before and some even close-up too, this was special. To now have the knowledge that Karlene piloted that specific aircraft many times makes it even more special!

      Arlington was by far the most moving experience I have been through so far this year. Extremely touching.

      Now my album is published, take a look😉
      https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150999836885330.475759.573450329&type=3

      • Cecilie, I will take a look at your album for sure. The Northwest 747 is the plane that dreams are made of for sure as it was my first aviation experience. I whole heartedly agree that being Karlene piloted the aircraft makes it that much more extra special. One day we should all meet up at the aircraft. Ok, off to take a look at your album😀

Leave a Reply

