Happy Independence Day, America!

Today is the 4th of July, which is the US Independence day. Last year on this day, I celebrated the day with my “family” in Jacksonville, Florida. The reason for the apostrophes is that they are not blood related, but they are related to my host family in Nebraska, back when I was an exchange student there. Being an exchange student truly gives you a second family.

We had dinner with lots of deep fried food. We watched the fireworks in downtown JAX, by the St. Johns river. All in all, a great day that I’ll remember for a long time.

This year, I’m in Norway. But that doesn’t mean we won’t celebrate. Mom and I just went grocery shopping, and we drove about 40 miles to get some American beer. Yes, that’s dedication. We are having a family BBQ-party tonight. We’ll even have Lays potato chips. I’m probably the closest you’ll get an American without citizenship🙂

I have many relatives and friends living in America, and I guess it’s fair to say that the US is a big part of me. It’s a country I have called “home” for 2 years and it’s the country that gave me the opportunity to come there and learn to fly. I’m forever thankful for that!

To celebrate the Independence of the US, a close allied with Norway, I thought it’d be fun to write a “Top 3”-list with what I love about the US.

Top 3 things I love about the US:

1. The cost of flying (compared to Europe, it’s really cheap!)
2. Florida (The Sunshine state.. I don’t think I have to elaborate on this one..)
3. The people (From my host family in Nebraska, to my third cousin in New Jersey, to my friends all across the US, from Seattle to New York – you’re all incredible individuals)

So I hope all of you will have a great celebration tonight. You know, Norway is +6 hours from the East coast, so it’s already “tonight” here. Consume a lot of beer and eat lots of Lays and I’m sure you’ll have a great night!😉

– Cecilie

 

Posted on July 4, 2012, in blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Cecilie, thank you for your wishes. I also lived in Jacksonville for a very brief period and also miss it to a degree. I am glad you had the opportunity to be an exchange student here as the opportunities we offer are endless. Even though you are in Norway this year, we will have you in mind during the celebrations.🙂

    • Jeremy, you are very welcome! I like the JAX-area a lot. A place I’ll definitely return to in the future for vacation. Yes, the opportunities in the US are really endless. And that is great! My brother is leaving this fall to be an exchange student as well, for his 12th year in high school.
      Thank you for the comment!

  2. Thank you so much Cecilie for the 4th of July celebration! What I love most is how our world is shrinking and we can share in each other’s National celebrations. Your Mom is a great lady to drive you for you 40 miles to get American beer. And… as American beers go… Coors Light is my favorite! Thank you for the tribute. While it’s already night there, it’s the next day in Tokyo. Have a fun night. Enjoy my beer and eats some chips for me, too!

    • Thank you for the comment Karlene! I think next time we’ll meet, we will have no problem deciding what beer to have with the food. Coors light is my favorite US beer too!🙂

Leave a Reply

