Mileage Run

Sometimes frequent flyers are a few miles short of re-qualifying for their elite status. This was the case for me this time, but with a trip to Frankfurt, I secured my EBG (SAS Eurobonus Gold) status for another year, until December 2015🙂

“A mileage run is a trip for the sole purpose of earning frequent-flier miles; a trip to absolutely anywhere at all assuming that the fare is cheap enough so that the miles balance out the cost”

Source
So I decided to purchase a youth fare with SAS to Frankfurt. My routing was like this, Sunday, February 17, 2013:

KRS-CPH-FRA-CPH-KRS

The big bonus; I got to ride the MD82 CPH-FRA-CPH which is an aircraft type SAS is getting rid of within the year and replacing it with the newer and more fuel efficient A320NEOs and 737-800s. I will sure miss the quietness in the first few rows of that aircraft.

Image

SE-DIK (MD-82) parked in FRA, ready for the flight back to CPH.

Image

The flight attendants thought I was nuts when they saw me board the same plane back to Copenhagen after barely 50 minutes on the ground in Frankfurt. They recognized me as I boarded and greeted me by name and said they wondered who Ms Larsen was, who was on SK675 and would also be on SK676 back to CPH. When I sat down in my seat, 07A (same seat I had on the way down) two of the flight attendants came over to me and asked questions about mileage running. Apparently, they had never heard of such a thing before.

During the inflight service, the purser apologized to me that she couldn’t remember if I wanted milk and sugar with my tea.😉

Thank you SAS, good flight, good service, and a renewed EBG-status🙂

Posted on February 24, 2013, in blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How much fun! I’ve never heard of mileage running. This is an exercise that we should all do.🙂 I met another young lady doing some running… will post soon. But for now, fly safe and have fun! You are Elite even without the mileage!

Leave a Reply

