What others are doing cheaper, I have to do better

Becoming a pilot has been a lifelong dream for me. May last year, the dream came true and I got my pilot license. It was tough, hard and exciting, all at the same time. In the end, all those hours spent reading, memorizing and understanding, finally paid off. But will it pay off in terms of job opportunities and conditions in the future?

Please visit my newly-published page Flight Training for more information on the training process.

With my little break between the instrument rating and the commercial license, I am still keeping up with aviation news, publications, and once in a while I pull out the FAR-AIM from my Jeppessen flight bag, just to read a few paragraphs.

“If you can’t find what you’re looking for in the FAR-AIM, it’s not a valid problem.”
That book has it all, amazing.

Recently, I have been airing some of my thoughts on the aviation industry on my blog. I also talk to my parents and my not-so-into-aviation-friends about it too. My mom said to me “Does all this negative attention regarding jobs, contract workers and labor from low-cost country, affect you at all?”

Truth be told, it definitely does. Not in a discouraging way, though. It actually triggers me. I have to work harder, better and longer to make myself “employable”, even though I can’t compete in terms of wages with pilots from other parts of the world. I need to be the best qualified pilot out there. What others are doing cheaper, I have to do better.


It's all about the pre-flight. Preparing for what is laying ahead is essential for success.

The big question is, of course, if airlines will value experience, comprehensive training and a degree, in the future.

In my last post, I discussed the employment contracts, the use of temporary workers and pay checks. To summarize, I’m not worried about pilot wages. I’m more worried about how people are employed.
When I’m ready to apply for my first aviation job, I want to make sure the contract allows me to be home with a sick child, or calling in sick my self (IMSAFE) without risking my job. That has unfortunately become the rule many places now. Pilots could reluctantly go to job, even though they are not fit-for-flight, because they fear they might be without a job at the end of the day.
Now we’re not just talking employment laws, we’re talking worldwide aviation safety concerns. That is something we should take very seriously.

Please visit Karlene’s blog on this very issue. Her take on it, is very real.

What people in other sectors are taking for granted, pilots have to fight for, every day. That doesn’t seem fair to me.

– Cecilie

Posted on April 24, 2012, in aviation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Cecliie, I had been told not to post this situation by a couple of our female pilots because they said I’d get fired. And another friend said, “we all have to pick and choose our battles.” This is one battle I chose to pick.

    The reason I felt compeled to share with the world what happened is that it’s wrong, and must change. And since I love this profession, and encourage people like yourself to join the industry… it’s only right that I leave it better than when I joined… for you.

    Far too many people turn their backs on injustice. If they are taken care of, they don’t think about others. But from now until my retirement 10-15 years, I will continue to work towards change for the better. And when I retire, I suspect I’ll go to the government and work on it from that angle too.

    I see the aviation world becoming one with the boarders of the sky taken down and anyone can fly for any company. My vision. The opportunities will be there for you. I’ll keep doing what I can to make it the best it can be.

    • Karlene, this is an unfortunate situation, but I will assure you, we are many people out there who support you in this battle. You are right, we can’t fight all the battles, we have to pick the ones that matter.

      We all have to strive for this change. Because it is so important. I am glad I have found others who are willing to go far to change the industry for the better. You are right, what happened recently is anything but right. I don’t understand how anyone can turn their backs on this.

      I support your efforts 100% and will continue to do so. It’s not just about me and my future, it’s about every workers future. What happens in the aviation industry can happen in other sectors too, but then it’s too late to do anything. People won’t react until it affects them, which is just human nature, but at the same time very sad. Showing support to other work groups is important.

      I love that vision, Karlene. And I do think it can become the reality one day. We just have to work hard toward that goal! Thank you for your great comment, and I’m sorry for the late reply, but my days have been filled up lately.

      • Cecilie, Yes… this is for everyone. But you represent the future, so I had to say for you.🙂 I know that once I learned I was protected in my state, that my friends didn’t want me to make an issue. But if we don’t take a stand, nothing will change. We have to go beyond our needs and look out for each other. We’ll just keep going, one day at a time….united we stand… to creating change for all of industry.

Leave a Reply

